NASA Time Trial

The National Auto Sport Association (NASA) is in its 16th full season with its Time Trial Program. Last year, we had all NASA regions with full participation, with over 1400 drivers nationwide. For 2019, we will continue to have full participation from our now fourteen NASA regions, with over 230 events nationwide. This year, we will continue the unified National NASA Championship format, where there will be a single National Championship event.  The tracks will change annually. This year’s 2019 NASA Championships presented by Toyo Tires will be at the Mid Ohio Sports Car Course on September 20-23, 2019.

NASA TT utilizes a car classification system that is easy to understand, and gives HPDE-4 drivers a taste of competition by allowing them to compete for top lap times, in advanced, open passing run sessions, against similarly prepared cars for awards, prizes, and recognition.

In total, there are seven Time Trial classes, including one unlimited, three Production car classes, and three combined Production and non-Production racecar classes (TTU, TT1-TT6).  Each region has its own Regional Championship Series that gives us our regional champions, and qualifies drivers to become eligible to compete at the NASA National Championship Event.  Drivers may qualify in any region, and are eligible to compete in the Championships by earning points in four (4) TT event days.  Awards are usually provided to our top-level finishers at each of the regional events.  To compete in NASA TT, a driver must obtain a NASA National TT License, which requires the driver to be an advanced level driver or racer.  Driver and vehicle safety are among our top concerns, and we have a pro-active safety program.  Our HPDE program, that accommodates drivers of all experience levels, is the best way for a driver to become qualified to compete in Time Trial.  The Time Trial program bridges the NASA competition pathway from NASA-X to HPDE to Time Trial to wheel-to-wheel racing.

Questions? Contact your Regional TT Director or our National TT Director here.